What does religion mean to you? 

What does religion mean to you? I’m attempting to begin my study of the Holy Bible and would like to know the opinion of others on this holy text. Any feedback is great feedback!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. krhome says:

    Hi Tabitha!!! Are you just studying the bible to study it, or are you trying o figure out what religion to follow? And if you ask me, I’m not a huge fan of religion! I believe having a relationship with God has nothing to do wit man made religion! I go to a church (haven’t been in a while) on 454 Essex street called Centro Cristiano! Though the call themselves Pentecostal, I don’t see the mad made partaking over. It’s literally just a place where we can congregate to worship the lord freely. Also, in the bible there are a lot of things that you would need to let marinate- some things may come across harsh but honest, and some things you may not agree on come first read. But let it marinate! Also, I am no pro at this! Good luck!

    1. Hey! Thank you so much for your feedback! I was a world religions studies major when I was at Merrimack and I became obsessed with it. However, I don’t recall taking a class based on the Catholic/Christian religion so I’ve never really studied the bible. Of course I’m familiar, like most, on the well known passages, but don’t know much more than that. I don’t know how I feel about religions, honestly. I think they can beautiful because it brings a culture to people like no other, but when we begin to interpret the holy texts literally, I think a lot of issues are created amongst us as a people.
      I’ve never been to the church you mentioned, so maybe I’ll check it out soon. I love visiting different worshipping places of the different religions and there are a lot locally, believe it or not! Would you consider yourself more spiritual than religious or vice versa?

      1. krhome says:

        Hmmm, not sure. I think more spiritually based? I mean, speaking to God, praying, and feeling the Holy Spirit is a powerful thing!!!! But sometimes when people say things, I don’t like that I begin to question. I like that God is an exact God!

      2. I agree with you. I like knowing that for me, he’s an entity that cannot be altered. It’s really the only constant thing in my life that I’ve had faith in.

  2. anjuf1 says:

    Religion is man made. They are different paths which all lead to the same path of right conduct in life. If you follow the principles of any religion, you listen to your conscience which makes you truthful, honest and virtuous.

Leave a Reply

