Would You Be Willing to Give Undocumented Immigrants Resident Status in Exchange for Armed Forces Service?

IMG_1440 copy

Out of pure curiosity, would you be okay if the lawmakers in your area voted in support of granting undocumented immigrants residence status in our country but only in exchange for the service in one of our armed forces?

I think that this is an interesting debate and I honestly do not know where I stand on this topic.

For those who would be okay with this, I can imagine that part of the reason for that stance would be so that such individuals could truly show their allegiance to this country through their military service and exchanging that service for permanent resident status is not a bad deal….

However, I could see why people would be against it because many would feel that allowing people who are illegally in this country to remain here legally in exchange for residency is just wrong and it could be perceived as a way of skirting the system.

Talk to me! Let me know what you think and how you feel on this issue!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. jonolan says:

    I’m OK with it as long as the illegals meet all enlistment requirements…which means that this would affect and benefit only a small fraction of the illegals, mostly those brought here as children.

    But yes, it is a way of skirting the current system. It’s just a way – an alternative pathway – that I’m OK with.

    The issue, as I see it, is that the illegals won’t for long be held to the same enlistment and promotion criteria. At least, not judging by the way the military is surrendering to pressure to enlist, assign, and promote unqualified women.

    1. Thanks for your feedback. I find myself agreeing with you. This initiative is also known as the Enlist Act and what it’s doing is trying to aid those children who were 15 and younger when they first entered this country, but they had to be that age before December 31, 2011. I think part of the problem I’m having with it is that this initiative is great for those who meet the criteria, but what happens to the many more who do not? I would like to see our country do more for those individuals who are trying to make a better life for themselves and their families that they may otherwise may not have been able to in their native country.

      1. jonolan says:

        In the end we virulent disagree since I want America to purge the illegals from lands and then, and only then, address the issues in the legal immigration process. You see, I don’t want see our country do more for those individuals who are trying to make a better life for themselves and their families that they may otherwise may not have been able to in their native country. It’s not our responsibility to do so, nor is doing so, by and large, beneficial to America.

        Then, I’ve spent time in the countries that send the most illegals our way and I know the general attitudes and thoughts about America that are common in those countries – and they’re not flattering to anyone.

        Remember, Mexico’s 2nd largest source of foreign currency, right after oil exports, is remittances from Mexican nationals in America. That’s a lot of money leaving our economy…

      2. I respect your opinion and take on this but if you look at it in a technical sense, aren’t we all immigrants? Didn’t a bunch of immigrants come to this country and take over the land that did not belong to them? For me, it’s a vicious cycle and I think that we are in a position to stop it by allowing others whom are already here to make a life for themselves. With that being said, perhaps we need more enforcement around our borders to avoid more immigrants from entering this land illegally and turn gears to promote their entrance legally.

      3. jonolan says:

        Sort of in reverse order but:

        1 – I spoke of illegals, not immigrants in general – though H1Bs need to drastically reduced. As I said, I’m all for fixing the immigration process after a purge.

        2 – A bunch of immigrants did come over her and and take over the land that did not belong to them. I’d prefer to actually learn from the Native Americans mistake instead of repeating it.

      4. Very well said! Thank you for all of your input!

Leave a Reply

