Ozzie Guillen: “I just want to be back in the game”

HardballTalk

Two years after being fired as the Marlins’ manager Ozzie Guillen wants to get back in a dugout, even if that means joining another manager’s staff as a coach.

Guillen told Gordon Wittenmyer of the Chicago Sun Times that he’d specifically like to work under Joe Maddon wherever he ends up, but added:

I’ve managed before. Economically, I’m pretty good. I just want to be back in the game. … I’m not bigger than the game. There’s a lot of managers who went back to coaching after they were managers. That doesn’t mean anything. I’m not better than them. Whoever thinks I can help, if they ask me, I don’t mind doing it.

Guillen was a consistent winner in Chicago, posting a .524 winning percentage in eight seasons as the White Sox’s manager, and it’s tough to blame him completely for what happened to the Marlins in 2012. He’s still…

View original post 27 more words

Leave a Reply

